Ex-DCP Ovbagbedia crowned 13th Ohworode in Delta

Ex-DCP Ovbagbedia crowned 13th Ohworode in Delta

Ovbagbedia crowned new Ohworode in Delta




Following the completion of the rites of passage for the late Ohworode, the people of the ancient Olomu Kingdom of Delta State crowned Olorogun Macaulay Popo Ovbagbedia, the Otota of Olomu Kingdom, as the 13th Ohworode of the ancient kingdom on Saturday.

The late HRM Dr. R.L. Ogbon was crowned the 12th Ohworode of Olomu in 1988.

The new Ohworode, a retired Assistant Commissioner of Police, was crowned at the Adjafia Gall by the most senior Otota of the Uhurhie Ruling House, Olorogun Godwin Okrokene, as HRM Macaulay Ovbagbedia, Uhurhie-Sadjere II.

The monarchy of Olomu Kingdom rotates between the three ruling households of Eyanvwien, Uhurhie, and Oghoro.

Following the Ohworode position are the Otota and Akpile/Akpohor positions, in that order.

Whenever the Ohworode passes on, the Otota becomes Ohworode and the Akpile becomes Otota, while the governing house of the deceased Ohworode produces an Akpile.

Following the coronation of Ovbagbedia as Ohworode, Olorogun Albert Akpomudje SAN, who presently holds the position of Akpile/Akpohor, has assumed the role of the new Otota of Olomu Kingdom.

The monarch of Olomu, HRM Macaulay Ovbagbedia Uhurhie-Osadjere II, expressed elation by stating, “I feel like I am dreaming, Today is a day joy.”

Exit mobile version