2023 Hajj: Lagos holds seminar for intending pilgrims

Muslim pilgrims to pay N2.8m for 2023 Hajj - NACHON

2023 Hajj: Lagos holds seminar for intending pilgrims

The Lagos State Muslims Pilgrims Welfare Board, has organized a seminar to sensitize the intending 2023 Hajj pilgrims on all it entails to perform successful Hajj according to the set down rules and regulations by the Nigeria Immigration Service, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency and National Hajj Commission of Nigeria among others.

The Commissioner for Home Affairs, Prince Anofiu Olanrewaju Elegushi in a Statement signed by the Board Secretary, Mr. Olayiwola Saheed Onipede, Thursday explained that the seminar is an avenue for the governor to have face-to-face interaction and offer prayers for Allah’s guidance, protection and safe trip for the intending pilgrims and other stakeholders embarking on the spiritual journey.

Dignitaries expected at the One-day seminar include Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, his deputy, Dr. Kadri Obafemi Hamzat and other top government functionaries are expected at the One-Day Seminar.

A popular Islamic scholar, Sheikh Muhydeen Ajani Bello, Chief Missioner, Ansar-ud-deen Society of Nigeria, Kano Branch, will speak on the topic, ‘Procedures of performing acceptable and rewarding Hajj’ while representatives of some Federal Government Agencies such as; Nigeria Immigration Service, Nigeria Drug Law and Enforcement Agency, Nigerian Custom Service and National Hajj Commission of Nigeria are also expected at event to educate the intending Pilgrims about their conducts in the foreign land.

The Grand Chief Imam of Lagos State, Sheikh Sulaiman Oluwatoyin Abou-Nollah, Chief Imams from the five divisions and some royal fathers are also expected.

The Board Secretary has, however, released the final list of the Local Government Coordinators who saddle with the responsibility oversee the welfare of the intending pilgrims in the holy land.

The Coordinators and their local government of jurisdiction are Bello Aminat and Martins Olubunmi, Agege; Bankole Rasheed and Nosiru Dawodu, Ajeromi Ifelodun; Mukadas Paramole, Alimosho; Sherifat Adeyanju (Amuwo Odofin; Rasheedat Tijani and Sherifat Oladipupo, Apapa; Ajarat Sanusi- Alaka and Saheed Idris, Badagry/Ojo; Nimotallahi Kosoko, Eti-Osa, and Muyibat Babalola, Epe.

Others are Rasheedat Muhammed, Ifako Ijaiye; Musa Lawal, Ikeja; Khadijat Oluwa, Ikorodu; Zeenat Ibrahim, Kosofe; Bisiriyu Lookman, Lagos Island; Salamat Obabire, Lagos Mainland; Kudirat Kadri, Mushin; Abubakar Aliu and Saidat Lawal, Oshodi-Isolo; Taofeek Dosunmu, Shomolu; Biola Buraimah, Surulere; Haruna Abibat, Government officials, and Fatima Jaji, JAIZ Bank/NIA and others.